When I am in doubt – Glenn Colquhoun

When I am in doubt
(a poem for surgeons)

When I am in doubt
I talk to surgeons.
I know they will know what to do.

They seem so sure.

Once I talked to a surgeon.
He said that when he is in doubt
he talks to priests.
Priests will know what to do.

They seem so sure.

Once I talked to a priest.
He said that when he is in doubt
he talks to God.
God will know what to do.

God seems so sure.

Once I talked to God.
He said that when he is in doubt
he thinks of me.
He says I will know what to do.

I seem so sure.

Dr Glenn Colquhoun
Hammersmith Press UK 2007
First published Robert Steele NZ 2002

Glenn Colquhoun is a contemporary New Zealand poet and medical doctor. Here is a link to some of his poems … http://www.beyond-the-pale.co.uk/backwards.htm

I had the pleasure of attending a workshop under his leadership a couple of years ago.

This could be regarded as a ‘pass-the-buck for advice poem’ the sequence of authority being – Surgeon-Priest-God … and of course we are going up the ladder.

The last stanza is where it all happens so to speak … after the build-up … and apart from a cynical response here is another interpretation and an interesting twist …

… and generalizing in the following to anyone with difficult decisions in life …

… a nice personification of God that when He is in doubt that humanity will do the ‘right thing’ He has faith at a very personal level that ‘We’ will know what to do. You could say God has great faith in his  creation … great faith in you and me. Usually we see faith flowing the other way so the reverse is an interesting change of thought … an emphasis on a two-way connectivity of the flowing of faith.

… and of course to what extent does any ‘God-connectivity’ aid us in our own decision making can only be answered by each of us at a very personal level … regardless whether or not we have to make difficult decisions akin to the work of a doctor

… and do we go up the hierarchy in that quest for working out what to do – and is God on the agenda … well that’s another question

… another thought if you are in the creation process do you likewise have faith in your own creations … and faith in your own children if you have any … well we always live in hope.

Your word in my ear ...

